District 5

  • Mrs. Sarah James, Ed.D.

    Dr. Sarah JamesPhone: 352.246.3515

    Email: Sarah.James@marion.k12.fl.us 

    Voters elected Sarah James, Ed.D., to the Marion County School Board in August 2022 for a term starting in November 2022.

    Before entering the private business sector, James previously worked for MCPS as a teacher at Fort King Middle School and assistant principal at Belleview High School.

    James earned her bachelor's degree in English from the University of Florida and her master's degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Central Florida. Her doctorate in Educational Leadership comes from National Louis University.

    She is married to Danny James and has three children. She has called Marion County home for the last 10 years.

    James' current board term runs 2022-2026.  

    District 5 includes: 

    • Anthony Elementary
    • East Marion Elementary
    • Fessenden Elementary
    • Fort McCoy Elementary/Middle
    • Marion Virtual (Grades 6-12)
    • North Marion High
    • North Marion Middle
    • Ocala Springs Elementary
    • Reddick-Collier Elementary
    • Sparr Elementary
    • Ocali Charter Middle School
    • McIntosh Area School