Magnet Schools and Career and Technical Academies

  • MCPS offers award winning magnet and CTE programs. These specialized programs afford students the option to learn in an environment, which supports their interests and aptitudes. Learn more about the many options MCPS provides in our 2020-2021 Reference Guide.


    Magnet schools offer theme-based, innovative instruction. Marion County offers magnet programs which meet student interests by addressing a number of themes. Magnet themes include: the arts, Cambridge AICE, Advanced Studies/Early College, International Baccalaureate, STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics), and Health Sciences.


    Marion County Public Schools offers seven Career Choice Academies for high school students. These academies relate to specific employment needs in the Ocala/Marion County area and are designed to give students the skill sets they need to pursue successful careers in these areas. Students enrolling in a Career Choice Academy must provide their own transportation to the school and become full-time students of that school


    The application window for magnet schools is closed for 2020-2021 school year.


    We have several schools available for Controlled Open Enrollment. Click here for the most recent list of schools open for Controlled Open Enrollment.


    Applications for magnet, CTE, controlled open enrollment and VPK options are completed online on once the student has been enrolled and assigned a student number.


    The application window for school choice for the 2021-2022 school year will open November 30, 2020.



    COVID 19: Update


    If you had accepted a seat at a magnet, career and technical education (CTE) program, or a school choice option and have chosen the MCPSonline option, your seat at your magnet program will be reserved.


  • Magnet Schools of America Excellence Awards

    Congratulations to Horizon Academy for being recognized as a School of Excellence.


    Magnet Schools of America Distinction Award

    Congratulations to the following schools for being recognized as Schools of Distinction:

    Dr. N H Jones Elementary

    Madison Street Academy Elementary

    Sunrise Elementary

    North Marion Middle School

    Belleview High School

    North Marion High School

    West Port High School