• Monday, October 21

    Bell work:

    What was the name of the General in charge of Massachusetts colony?

    Who were the British attempting to arrest in Lexington?

    What happened in Concord?

    Activity: Module 4 Lesson 2, p. 118. #1a, 1b, 2a, 2b, 2c, 3a, 3b, 3c, 4a, 4b, 5

    Activity: Think Pair Share - Answers 

     

    Thursday, October 17 and Friday, October 18

    The Shot Heard 'Round the World'

    Second Continental Congress

     

    Wednesday, October 16

    Bell Work:

    Define the following terms:

      Mercenaries

      Loyalists

      Minutemen

      Patriots 

    First Continental Congress

    Tuesday, October 15

    Bell Work: Explain what the Intolerable Acts of 1774 were.

    *What effects did they have on the colonists?

    Monday, October 14

    Teacher Workday - No School

     

    Thursday, October 10 and Friday, October 11

     Career Planning Day

    Bell Work:

                 What do you think you would like to do when you become an adult?

    Career Planning Day Lesson:

           Using MyCareerShines, take the skills confidence and interest tests. Then discover careers that may interest you.

     

    Wednesday, October 9

    Bell Work: 

    Make-Up Work Day 

     

    Tuesday, October 8

     Bell Work: 

    • You are a member of the British Parliament in the 1770s. Some members say that the Americans are defying the king. Others point out that the colonists are British citizens who have certain rights. Now the king must decide to punish the rebellious colonists or listen to their complaints.
    • What is your advice?

    Activity: Cause and Effect Chart

    Think Pair Share: Compare and Contrast answers with parterners

    Quick Write: How did the 

    Monday, October 7

    Bell Work: How did colonists respond to the Townshend Acts?

    History Stairs to the Revolution

    Notes: How did taxes lead to the Boston Tea Party

                Who were the Sons of Liberty

    Collected Homework

     

    Thursday, October 2 and Friday, October 3

    Bell Work

    Consequences of the French and Indian War, pt. 2

    Boston Masscre

    Compare and Contrast Video with Newspaper and Textbook

    Boson Tea Party

    Intolerable Acts 

    Homework: Create a Poster Advertising one of the Acts covered in Module 4 Lesson 1 (Stamp Act, Townsend Acts, Intolerable Acts, Sugar Act). The poster should visually explain the purpose of the Act. The poster can be made from either the British or American perspective. There should be no more than 10 words on the poster (it is visual)


    Materials:

    Computer or Printer paper (not on poster board)

    Colored pencils or crayons

     

    Wednesday

    Bell Work: Explain how the Treaty of Paris (1763) reshaped the landscape of North America

    Consequences of th French and Indian War p. 106-

    Stamp Act

    Townshend Acts

    Students Informed of current grade and missing work

     

    Tuesday, October 1

    Bell Work: Explain the outcome of the French and Indian War

    Review Unit Test 2

     

    Monday, September 30

    Bell Work: A farmer who wanted to grow sugar cane would most likely live where?

    French and Indian War p. 95 

     

    Thursday, September 26 and Friday, September 26

    Colonial Governments and Triangular Trade (p. 90-94)

    Unit 2 Test

     

    Wednesday, September 25

    Half Day

    Soft Skills Lesson Plan

     

    Tuesday, September 24

    Bell Work:

    DBQ Essay and Board Game Review 

     

    Monday, September 23

    Bell Work: POSER Analysis of 

    DBQ Documents 5-9

    DBQ Documents Discussion

     

    Thursday, September 19 and Friday, September 20

    DBQ  

    Documents 1-4

     

    Wednesday, September 18

    Bell Work

    DBQ Introduction and Background Essay 

     

    Tuesday, September 17

    Bell Work

     

     

    Monday, September 16

    Bell Work

    Jamestown

     

    Thursday, September 12 and Friday, September 13

    Bell Work

    Explain how things have changed in the United States since 9/11/2001

    Pictures

    Test Review

    Middle Colonies: Wkbk 34-36

     

    Wednesday, September 11

    Bell Work

    Describe what happened on 9/11/2001

    9/11 Lesson Plan

     

    Tuesday, September 10

    Bell Work:

    • Who was Equiano
    • What was the Toleration Act of 1649
    • What was the economy of the Southern Colonies Like?

    Graphic Organizer

    New England Colonies: Wkbk Module 3 Lesson 2

     

    Monday, September 9

     Bell Work:

    • Describe life in Jamestown:
    • 1. Relations with Native Americans?
    • 2. What type of people would you see there?

    Extra Credit Announcement

    Graphic Organizer for the Colonies set up

    Southern Colonies: Wkbk Module 3 Lesson 1

    Homework: Jamestown

     

    Thursday, September 4 and Friday, September 5

    Bell Work: What happened at Roanoke?

    13 Colonies Map

    Jamestown Notes

     

    Wednesday September 3

    Hurricane Day

     

    Tuesday September 2

    Hurricane Day

     

    Monday September 1

    Labor Day no School

     

    Thursday, August 29 and Friday, August 30

    Bell work: Make one index card with whatever notes you want for today's test.

    Unit 1 Test

    Notecards Unit 2

    Introduction to Jamestown

     

    Wednesday, August 28

    Bell Work: 

     Match the key term to the description on the right

    Columbus

    Colonization

    Native Americans

    Asia

    Bahamas

    Europe

    Spain

    Immunities

    Set off on a voyage from Spain in 1492.

    This country sponsored Columbus' voyage in hopes that he could find a new route to Asia

    This people group were the original inhabitants of the Americas

    Many nations on this continent began colonizing the Americas in the late 1400s and early 1500s

    Columbus originaly landed in this area.

    Many native Americans caught small pox  becuase they lacked these.

    Colubus was trying to reach this area

    When a larger nation tries to take over an area outside of their borders to gain more wealth and resources.

     

    European Presence

    Summarize the section in a few sentences.

    English (p.56-58)

     

    French (p. 58-59)

     

    Dutch (p. 59-60)

     

    HW The First Europeans (Due 8/29 and 8/30. Deadline Tuesday 9/3).

    Tuesday, August 27

     Bell Work

    Explorer

    Why was this explorer important?

    Hernan Cortes

     

    Francisco Pizarro

     

    Ponce De Leon

     

    Hernando De Soto

     

    Pop Quiz and Review

    The Northwest Passage

     

    Monday, August 26

    Bell Work:

    1.How did Spain gain control over North America from Mexico to western South America?

    Spain Explores the Southeast p. 48-51

    Spain Explores the Southwest p. 51

     

    Thursday, August 22 and Friday, August 23

    Bell Work: 

    What factors led Europeans to begin their voyages of exploration?

    1.Spanish

    2.Dutch and French

    3.English

    • What role did religion (Catholicism and the Protestant Reformation) on exploration of the New World?

    Textbook: Module 2 - Lesson 3

    Students were divided into groups to read a section of Module 2 - Lesson 3, took notes on the section using the POSERS method, and reported their section to the whole class. Students were required to take notes on the other students presentations using the following chart

     

     

    Aztec

    Inca

    Settlements

    Who

         

    Where

         

    What Happened

         

    Why did it happen?

         

     

    Wednesday, August 21

    Bell Work:

         Why did the French and Dutch explore North America?

         Where did the French set up their 

         Why do you think that both the French and the Dutch set up their main colonies on rivers that led to the Atlantic Ocean?

    Newsela: Imperial Rivalries, part 3 

     

    Tuesday, August 20

    Bell Work: 

         Explain why the Spanish sailed west

         What did Christopher Columbus do when he landed on new islands?

         Why did Spain explore the New World?

    Newsela: Imperial Rivalries, part 2

     

    Monday, August 19

    Bell Work: 

         POSERS- Analysis of an engraving

    Text Coding Boot Camp

    Newsela: Imperial Rivalries, part 1

     

    Thursday August 15 and Friday August 16

    Bell Work: Why do people EXPLORE, well... anything? Explain. 

    Vocabulary Unit 1 Flash Cards

    How to setup our notebooks

    Wkbk: 14-25

    Crash Course: Age of Exploration and Notes

    Textbook: P. 36

    Closure: What factors led the Portuguese and the Spanish to begin their voyages of exploration?

    *Syllabus Due

     

    Wednesday August 14

    Classroom Policies and Procedures

     

    Tuesday August 13

    Classroom Policies and Procedures

    -Syllabus Assignment

     

    Monday August 12

    School Policies and Procedures