Book List

  • 365 Days of Wonder, R. J. Palacio

    365 Days of Wonder

    by R. J. Palacio Year Published: 2014

    This is a companion book to Wonder, by R. J. Palacio and focuses on conversations between Mr. Brown, Auggie's teacher, Auggie and his friends. Mr. Brown and his precepts are a central focus. 

     

    In the #1 New York Times bestselling novel Wonder, readers were introduced to memorable English teacher Mr. Browne and his love of precepts. This companion book features conversations between Mr. Browne and Auggie, Julian, Summer, Jack Will, and others, giving readers a special peek at their lives after Wonder ends. Mr. Browne's essays and correspondence are rounded out by a precept for each day of the year—drawn from popular songs to children’s books to inscriptions on Egyptian tombstones to fortune cookies. His selections celebrate the goodness of human beings, the strength of people’s hearts, and the power of people’s wills. (From Amazon.com)

    Comments (-1)
  •  Hatchet, Gary Paulson

    Hatchet

    by Gary Paulson Year Published: 2006

    From Amazon.com

    This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

    Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is on his way to visit his father when the single-engine plane in which he is flying crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but a tattered Windbreaker and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present—and the dreadful secret that has been tearing him apart since his parent’s divorce. But now Brian has no time for anger, self pity, or despair—it will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed, to survive.

    Comments (-1)
  •  Brian's Winter, Gary Paulson

    Brian's Winter

    by Gary Paulson Year Published: 2012

    From School Library Journal

    Grade 5-9-At the conclusion of Hatchet (Macmillan, 1987), Brian Robeson is rescued after surviving a plane crash and summer alone in the north Canadian woods. Now, in this second sequel, Paulsen shows what would have happened if the 13-year-old boy had been forced to endure the harsh winter. For a brief time, Brian lives in relative luxury, living off the contents of the recently recovered survival pack, which included a gun for hunting. Then, his freeze-dried food runs out and his rifle fails, and he realizes how careless and complacent he has become. Suddenly aware of the changing seasons, he works frantically to winterize his shelter, fashion warmer clothes from animal skins, and construct a more powerful bow and arrow. About the time he has mastered winter survival, he discovers a dog-sled trail that leads him to a trapper and final rescue. The same formula that worked before is successful here: the driving pace of the narration, the breathtaking descriptions of nature, and the boy who triumphs on the merits of efficient problem solving. The author's ability to cast a spell, mesmerize his audience, and provide a clinic in winter survival is reason enough to buy this novel. Although the plot is both familiar and predictable, Paulsen fans will not be disappointed.?Tim Rausch, Crescent View Middle School, Sandy, UT
    Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.
    Comments (-1)
  •  The River, Gary Paulson

    The River

    by Gary Paulson Year Published: 2012

    Sequel to Gary Paulson's The Hatchet book. 

    From Publishers Weekly

    For fans of Hatchet, Paulsen's popular survival story, come two follow-up adventures. In the first, Brian must rescue a coma victim when stranded on a rapid river in the wilderness. PW called The River "as riveting as its predecessor... the psychological terrain of the sequel is fresh and distinct." Brian's Winter poses the question: what if the hero had not been rescued before the weather turned deadly? "The pace never relents," said PW, "Paulsen serves up one cliffhanger after another." Ages 12-up. 
    Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
    Comments (-1)
  •  Auggie & Me, R. J. Palacio

    Auggie & Me

    by R. J. Palacio Year Published: 2015

    This book is about Auggie Pullman as seen through three different sets of eyes or viewpoints. The book is written through three points of view, Julian, the bully; Christopher, Auggie's oldest friend; and Charlotte, Auggie's new friend at school. 

    Comments (-1)
  •  Wonder, R.J. Palacio

    Wonder

    by R. J. Palacio Year Published: 2012

    This book is about August- or Auggie- Pullman who has some facial differences due to being born that way. He was homeschooled up until 5th grade, and his parents are thinking he needs to go to 'regular' school in for him to grow and mature as he should. The book tells of his journey into a new school, burgeoning friendships, and not to mention kindness, tolerance, and self-discoveries. 

    I highly recommend this book to students, parents, and adults alike. 

    Comments (-1)
  •  Because of Mr. Terupt, Rob Buyea

    Because of Mr. Terupt (Mr. Terupt #1)

    by Rob Buyea Year Published: 2010

    "Features seven narrators, each with a unique story, and each with a different perspective on what makes their teacher so special." goodreads

     www.goodreads.com (You can search books here, if you like.)

    Comments (-1)
  •  Crispin, Avi

    Crispin: The Cross of Lead

    by Avi Year Published: 2004

    "'Asta's Son' is all he's ever been called. The lack of a name is appropriate, because he and his mother are but poor peasants in 14th century medieval England...." goodreads 

    www.goodreads.com (You can search books here, if you like.)

    Comments (-1)
  •  Tuck Everlasting, Natalie Babbit

    Tuck Everlasting

    by Natalie Babbitt Year Published: 1985

    "Doomed to - or blessed with - eternal life after drinking from a magic spring, the Tuck family wanders about trying to live as inconspicuously and comfortably as they can. When ten-year-old Winnie Foster stumbles on their secret..." goodreads 

    www.goodreads.com (You can search books here, if you like.)

    Comments (-1)